If you have been involved in an auto accident, you may be wondering how to obtain a crash report. First of all, it will depend on which state you live in. For example, if you are a resident of Houston, obtaining crash reports from the Texas Department of Transportation is relatively simple. If you visit their website, you can secure a copy of the report using their online system, which is helpful for people who have been in auto accidents and are already dealing with overwhelming stress.
Those who purchase a crash report through the online system can access the reports right away. People can also order and receive reports by mail, after sending in the proper form. For privacy reasons, the general public cannot view these reports online.
In the state of Texas, when an auto accident results in death, injury or property damage greater than $1,000, law enforcement officials are required to submit a crash report to the Texas Department of Transportation within 10 days. Obtaining a copy of the crash report is one of the most crucial things for someone to do after they have had their world turned upside down because of a car accident. These reports provide a plethora of information pertaining to an accident, such as the drivers of vehicles that were involved and the location of the crash.
Sometimes, understanding the information on crash reports can be tricky for those who aren't familiar with reading these reports. As a result, some people turn to an experienced legal professional to help them review the report. If you are preparing for court after an auto accident, it is imperative to analyze the crash report beforehand.